‘Banshees of Inisherin’ Actress Kerry Condon to Be Honored at Oscar Wilde Awards (Exclusive)

‘Banshees of Inisherin’ Actress Kerry Condon to Be Honored at Oscar Wilde Awards (Exclusive)



Kerry Condon, now receiving high marks for her turn opposite Colin Farrell and Brendan Gleeson in Martin McDonagh‘s The Banshees of Inisherin, will be honored at the 2023 Oscar Wilde Awards.

The 17th annual event, held on the Thursday night before the Academy Awards, returns March 9 to J.J. Abrams and Katie McGrath’s Bad Robot production company in Santa Monica.

The Oscar Wilde Awards are organized by the US-Ireland Alliance, which is led by Trina Vargo as founder-president. They celebrate the contributions of people from Ireland, and others, to film, television, and music.

Condon, 39, a native of Tipperary, Ireland, and McDonagh also worked together in stage productions of The Cripple of Inishmaan and the Royal Shakespeare Company’s The Lieutenant of Inishmore and in the acclaimed 2017 film Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri.

“I don’t think I’d quite seen how brilliant she was onstage really captured in the movies,” McDonagh said of reteaming with Condon on Banshees in a September interview with Vanity Fair. “I wanted to make certain that we did that — she just blew my away.”

Condon, who also plays the role of Friday in Marvel superhero films will next be seen alongside Liam Neeson and Ciaran hinds in the thriller In The Land of Saints and Sinners .

On television, she portrayed the daughter of Jonathan Banks’ Mike Ehrmantraut on Better Call Saul and has appeared on such other series as Luck, Ray Donovan and Sharon Horgan’s Women on the Verge.

Hackman Capital Partners and The MBS Group are back as the event’s lead sponsors. Last year, Hackman announced it will sponsor two of the US-Ireland Alliance’s Mitchell Scholarships (for study in Ireland) with a gift of $100,000.

Screen Ireland Screen and Northern Ireland Screen are also back to be sponsors.

Due to lingering pandemic fears, the Oscar Wilde Awards were held last year at the Ebell theater in Los Angeles. It was canceled in 2021.

Honorees over the years have included Farrell, Gleeson, Norman Lear, Jim Sheridan, Kenneth Branagh, Catherine O’Hara, Hylda Queally, Barry Keoghan, Glenn Close, Ruth Negga, Saoirse Ronan, Carrie Fisher, Van Morrison, Michelle Williams, Neil Jordan and late THR writer-editor Steve Brennan.

In the coming weeks, other honorees will also be announced.

Read More