New York Film Critics Circle Revealing 2022 Winners (Updating Live)

New York Film Critics Circle Revealing 2022 Winners (Updating Live)

The New York Film Critics Circle has named Tar as its best film of 2022.

The critics group voted on its 2022 winners on Friday, with Tar star Cate Blanchett named best actress and Colin Farrell selected as best actor for his work in both After Yang and The Banshees of Inisherin, with the latter winning best screenplay for writer-director Martin McDonagh.

S. S. Rajamouli was named best director for RRR . Nope‘s Keke Palmer won best supporting actress while Everything Everywhere All at Once‘s Ke Huy Quan was named best supporting actor, just days after he won a similar prize at the Gotham Awards.

Marcel the Shell With Shoes On , won best animated feature, while Laura Poitras’ All the Beauty and the Bloodshed won the award for best nonfiction film.

Other winners included EO winning best foreign-language film, and Top gun: Maverick ‘s Claudio Miranda winning best cinematography.

The 42-member critics group, which counts The Hollywood Reporter‘s chief film critic David Rooney among its members, also handed out three special awards.

Imprisoned Iranian filmmaker Jafar Panahi, who was arrested over the summer amid a broader crackdown on artists across the country and is serving out a six-year prison sentence, was recognized “for his dogged bravery as an artist, and for the humanity and beauty of a body of work created under the most oppressive circumstances.”

They were also recognized for their valuable work in bringing independent films from China to a wider audience .”

NYFCC honored Jake Perlin as a curator, distributor, and publisher for what it called “his essential contributions to film culture.”

The NYFCC began its vote by announcing its award of cash prizes to two students, Nico Pedrero-Setzer and Greg Nussen, who are focusing on film criticism/journalism and attending college in the New York City area.

Last year, the NYFCC selected Drive My Car as the best picture of 2021.

A complete list of the NYFCC’s 2022 winners follows.

Best Film: Tar
Best Director: S. S. Rajamouli, RRR
Best Actor: Colin Farrell, After Yang and The Banshees of Inisherin
Best Actress: Cate Blanchett, Tar
Best Screenplay: Martin McDonagh, The Banshees of Inisherin
Best Supporting Actor: Ke Huy Quan, Everything Everywhere All At Once
Best Supporting Actress: Keke Palmer, Nope
Best Animated Feature: Marcel the Shell with Shoes On
Best Cinematography: Claudio Miranda, Top Gun: Maverick
Best First Film: Aftersun
Best Foreign Language Film: EO
Best Nonfiction Film: All the Beauty and the Bloodshed
Special Award: Jake Perlin
Special Award: dGenerate Films
Special Award: Jafar Panahi

Founded in 1935, the organization’s membership includes critics from daily newspapers, weekly newspapers, magazines and qualifying online general-interest publications. The group meets every December in New York to vote for awards for films from the previous year.

In addition to the usual categories (best picture, director and actor), special stand-alone awards will be given to individuals or organizations that have made significant contributions to the art and science of cinema. These include producers, directors and actors, writers, critics and historians, film restorers, service organizations, and critics.

In January, the awards will be presented in New York.

Read More